Egf family ligands

David C. Lee, C. Leann Hinkle, Leslie F. Jackson, Shunqiang Li, Susan Wohler Sunnarborg

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapterpeer-review

11 Scopus citations


This chapter provides an overview of the mammalian ErbB signaling network that has vital roles in the development and homeostasis, and its components are frequent and important targets for deregulation leading to cancer and other diseases. The network comprises multiple polypeptide ligands belonging to the epidermal growth factor (EGF) superfamily, and four related type I receptor tyrosine kinases, ErbB 1-ErbB4, which initiates signal. The EGF superfamily includes members of the EGF and Neuregulin subfamilies. The EGF group includes six independent gene products: EGF, transforming growth factor-alpha (TGFα), amphiregulin (AR), heparin-binding EGF (HB-EGF), betacellulin (BTC), and epiregulin (EREG) transduction. An apparent seventh member, epigen, was recently described. Transforming growth factor alpha (TGFα) is the best studied member of the EGF family.

Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationThe Cytokine Handbook
Number of pages29
StatePublished - Jul 7 2003


Dive into the research topics of 'Egf family ligands'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this